Home

About me

Contact me

Personal Information

Name: Christina Anna Milcher
Age: Somewhere beginning 30s
Currently living in:Reykjavík, Iceland
Currently occupied with:Working as a physiotherapist in Vifilstaðir (Landspítalinn); My masters degree in Public Health in the University of Iceland; Running a micro-bakery out of my kitchen; Writing a book about my travels down the panamerican highway; Active member of the IWW
Primary profession:Physiotherapist
Other things I dabbled with:Teaching English, Web-design, Baking and knitting, Writing

Physiotherapy related info

Specialisation in:
Mc Kenzie method of mechanical diagnosis and therapy; Proprioceptive neuromuscular facilitation (PNF); Instructor for Jackobson's progressive relaxation technique

Work experience
January 2014 - now
Employed in Landspítalinn (University Hospital) Reyljavík, Iceland. Working in Vifilsstaðir a place for old people post-rehab.

August 2008 - December 2011 and September 2005 - November 2006
Position as a registered physiotherapist in the hospital of Blönduós, Iceland on a self- employed basis.

June 2003 - June 2005
Interships from the Hogeschool of Amsterdam in the physiotherapy department of the Komfo Anokye Teaching Hospital in Kumasi, Ghana, in the physiotherapy department of the orthopedic Rehabilitation Centre "Schwertbad" in Aachen, Germany and in a privat physiotherapy and manual therapy practice in Stolberg, Germany

Education
Bachelor of Health Science (Hogeschool van Amsterdam)

Other things I worked with

Teaching English
September 2007 - June 2008
Teaching afternoon courses if English as a foreign language in high and primary schools in Beijing, China (amongst others in Wulutong primary and Number 4 middle school) as well as private tutoring.

Certificates
Teaching English as a Foreign Language (TEFL) certificate
Academic IELTS 8.5 (of 9)

Software
Wrote and maintain the pe_pplog. "pe_pplog" stands for "pretty easy pplog" and is a perl/JQuery powered blog. It is a fork of PPLOG by Federico Ramírez (fedekun).
Contributed packages of pagekite, jitsi and the pe_pplog to the Puppy Linux community.
This website is self-hosted

I have played with
Perl, HTML, javascript, Apache web-server, git, R and a little bit of shell scripting

Other info

I'm currently:
Doing my masters degree in Public Health and planning to finally finish my thesis: "Socio-economic factors effecting health in the migrant population in China".
Writing a book out of my travel blog, which is my first venture into creative writing.
Am an active member of the IWW branch in Reykjavík and serving as the secretary / treasurer.
Running a micro-bakery called Öfchen out of my kitchen. I bake two kinds of German sourdough bread.
Maintainig the pe_pplog.

Countries traveled and languages learned
I have lived in Iceland, Ghana, Amsterdam, China and Chile
I have traveled on all continents but Antarktica, my two biggest trips were traveling from China through Mongolia to Moskau and from Alaska to Tierra del Fuego.
I speak fluent German (because I'm German) and English, good Icelandic and Spanish, some Chinese and Dutch.

Other interests
Photography, knitting, Aikido and I have been seen playing my guitar on the street.